Department Of Philosophy

  • 1. Year of Establishment :1979
  • 2. Name of the Department :Philosophy Department
  • 3. Affiliating Agency :Gauhati University
  • 4. Year of Part-I affiliation :1992-93
  • 5. Year of Part-II affiliation :2004

6. History Of the Department :

The Nirmal Haloi College was established in 1979 to meet the growing need of an institution for higher education of Patacharkuchi. Since there was no proper accommodation of facility to open degree course at the time of the establishment of the college, so, logic subject was first introduced in pre-university classes. There were only 52 students in the first batch of the college and the Logic subject began with only 15 students. Degree class (General Courses) in Philosophy was introduced in 1989 with 4 students. The major course in Philosophy could not be introduced at that time due to the lack of qualified teacher and building accommodation. The major course was introduced in 2000 with 9 students.

7. Seminar Library :

Seminar Library : The seminar library is born with a view to assisting the students providing them reading materials. The library will help the students in developing their thoughts and understanding in the respective field. Both the teacher and students of the department use the library.There are books and some journal of Philosophy in the library. Though the students use the reading materials but they are not allowed to take the book and journals outside the library. They are allowed to use the reading materials only inside the library.

8. Teachers Of the Department :

At present three teachers having latest UGC norms have been serving in the department. The teachers are well-versed in teaching all the appers and thety actively perform their duties keeping close contact with the students for the betterment of the department. They conduct selection test, unit test, sessional examination, group discussion and also evaluate the scripts.

Our Faculties :

Name Qualification Designation Specialization Date Of Joining Image
Mr. Manik Chandra Das M.A, M.Phil Associate Proff. Logic 28/11/1988
Dr.Tapan Kakati M.A, Ph.D Associate Proff. Logic 06/02/1996
Mr. Rajen Chandra Das M.A, M.phil Assistant Proff. None 21/10/2003